After 94 years of service, Boys & Girls Clubs of Southeastern Michigan still remains that safe place for youth to learn, have fun and reach their full potential as change agents in their life, Club and communities. With providing high quality youth development programs, BGCSM has Reimagined the Future of afterschool learning and continues to stay agile and expand to better support the needs of our changing youth, ensuring that they are career, start-up and homeowner ready..

Our Story


Founded in 1926, Boys & Girls Clubs of Southeastern Michigan has 94 years of experience in youth development.

Each decade brought new challenges and opportunities, some local, some national, and some global. From the industrial revolution to the digital revolution, through a World War, a great depression, devastating riots, and the COVID-19 pandemic, Boys & Girls Clubs of Southeastern Michigan has been a force for good in kids’ lives. Despite our long history, each day we continue to find new ways to learn, grow, and innovate.


Our Impact



Every year, we serve 15,000 youth between the ages of 6 and 18 to our Clubs and School-Based sites. As soon as our youth members walk through our doors, they enter an environment of stability, consistency, and physical and emotional safety. All of our Club run programs designed to be fun and engaging, while building skills and confidence for a successful future.

We’re open when kids need us most - after school, on most school holidays, and all day during the summer. Clubs offer safe places where young people can learn, grow, and succeed.

Meet Our Professional Staff

Shawn H. Wilson

President & CEO

Contact Shawn H. Wilson

Gavin McGuire

Chief Operations Officer

Contact Gavin McGuire

Wendy Yates

Chief Financial Officer

Contact Wendy Yates

Tiffany Brightwell

Vice President of People & Culture

Contact Tiffany Brightwell

Roderick Brown

Senior Vice President of Strategy

Contact Roderick Brown

Cortnie Squirewell

Executive Director of Innovation & Stakeholder Engagement

Contact Cortnie Squirewell

Antonice Strickland

Senior Director, Marketing and Public Relations

Contact Antonice Strickland

Jennifer Trussell

Director of Resource Development

Contact Jennifer Trussell

Leah Barterian

Director of Strategy & Innovation

Contact Leah Barterian

Russell Harris Jr

Area Director, Auburn Hills, Romulus and Belleville

Contact Russell Harris Jr

Chris Kyles

Area Club Director, Dick & Sandy Dauch Campus

Contact Chris Kyles

Richard Miller

Director of Facilities

Contact Richard Miller

Jarvis-LaRue Brown

Club Director, Matilda R. Wilson Club

Contact Jarvis-LaRue Brown

Jill Covell

Club Director, Romulus Club

Contact Jill Covell

Tiffany Sula

Club Director, Richard & Patricia Donahey Club

Contact Tiffany Sula

Tomilia Terry

Club Director, Trix Academy Club

Contact Tomilia Terry

Carrie Young

Club Director, Bloomer-Munger Club

Contact Carrie Young

Marvin Logan Jr.

Strategy & Development Manager

Contact Marvin Logan Jr.

Aaron Kuhn

Executive Operations Coordinator

Contact Aaron Kuhn

Jennifer Wakenell

Development Associate

Contact Jennifer Wakenell

Roslyn Karamako

Detroit Entrepreneur in Residence

Roslyn Karamako

Executive Committee

Derick W. Adams

Human Resources Chair

Vice President, Human Resources Henry Ford Health System

Jennifer DeMello-Johnson

Annual Campaign & Resource Development Chair

Vice President of Agency Services | Amerisure

Mitchell R. Harris

Wilson Club Advisory Board Chair

Manager, Human Resources, Retired | AkzoNobel Coatings

Jeffrey M. Henning


Partner, Global Automotive Markets Leader | Ernst & Young

Hiram E. Jackson

Chair of the Board

CEO | Real Times Media

John A. James

Chairman & CEO | James Group International

Larry E. Knox

CEO | Knox Consulting Group

Andra M. Rush

Boys & Girls Clubs of America Midwest Trustee

President | Detroit Manufacturing Systems

Edd G. Snyder

President, CEO | Future Solutions

Board of Directors

Sam Abrams

Diehl Advisory Club Chair

Youth & Community Coordinator | UAW-Ford National Programs Center

Ryan Bigelow

Chief Investment Officer at General Retirement System | City of Detroit

LeRoy D. Burcroff

Romulus Club Advisory Council Chair

Mayor | City of Romulus

Thomas Callan

Facilities & Safety Chair

Partner | UHY LLP

Greg Crabb

President and CEO | Amerisure

David C. Dauch

Chairman & CEO | American Axle & Manufacturing, Inc.

Pattie Dykstra

Account Executive | Logicalis

Burt Jordan

Vice President Global Vehicle Purchasing | Ford Motor Company

Anthony LaVerde

CEO | Emagine Entertainment

Scott Lesher

President | Creative Productions Inc.

Chris Markey

Vice President | Allstate Independent Agencies Sales

Kirk N. Martin

Vice President | Martin Land & Investments

Sonya Mays

President & CEO | Develop Detroit

Darrell E. Middleton

Executive Vice President, Operations & Business Performance | Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

John Fikany

Executive Consultant | The Fikany Group

Sue Nine

Women’s Association Co-Chair

Community Volunteer

James Pastor

Vice President, Quality and Continuous Improvement | New Flyer

Leon Richardson

President/CEO | The Chemico Group, LLC.

Tony Saunders

COO | Rock Ventures

Michael P. Solan

Realtor | Max Broock Realtors

Sam P. Ventimiglia, CLU, RHU

President | Great Lakes Wealth Planning, Inc.

Leven Weiss, Esq.

Retired | Fiat Chrysler Automobiles

Directors Emeriti

Sandra J. Dauch

Trustee | Richard E. and Sandra J. Dauch Family Foundation

Peter A. Dow

Vice Chair & COO, Retired | Campbell Ewald

Morton E. Harris

Co-Founder | American Axle &Manufacturing, Inc.

Thomas Hoeg

President & CEO | Agency Business Solutions, LLC

Nicholas Martin, Jr.

President | Martin Land & Investments

James W. McLernon

Chairman, Retired | American Axle & Manufacturing

Catherine M. O’Malley

Retail Consultant